Skip to main content
A collage of images depicting different key workers, with colours bursting and the Almeida Theatre behind.
A collage of images depicting different key workers, with colours bursting and the Almeida Theatre behind.

The Key Workers Cycle

By Francesca Beard, Sonali Bhattacharyya, Josh Elliott, Annie Jenkins, Eno Mfon, Nessah Muthy, Danusia Samal, Yomi Ṣode, and Molly Taylor

Event details

This event has passed

9 Mar — 12 Mar 2022

If the Tube ground to a halt . . .
If the supermarket shelves emptied . . .
If your bins overflowed . . .
Would it feel like something, or someone, was missing?

A chorus of delivery drivers singing through the night, a support worker haunted by visions of the women who depend on her, a funeral director showing off his dab hand with a pair of clippers. In an echo of the Medieval Mystery Plays – which brought together communities of craftsmen and merchants to act out the stories of famous miracles – The Key Workers Cycle presents a cycle of nine short plays celebrating the humour, the hope and the stories of those who keep our daily lives running.

Performed by a company of professional actors, local community participants and key workers, The Key Workers Cycle places Islington’s community at its heart.

The Social Care Workers’ Play by Francesca Beard
The Teachers’ Play by Sonali Bhattacharyya
The Funeral Directors’ Play by Josh Elliott
The Delivery Drivers’ Play by Annie Jenkins
The Women’s Centre Workers’ Play by Eno Mfon
The Midwives’ Play by Nessah Muthy
The Refuse Collectors’ Play by Danusia Samal
The Supermarket Workers’ Play by Yomi Ṣode
The TFL Workers’ Play by Molly Taylor

This production is presented in partnership with All Change, Clean Break and Graeae.

All Change Clean Break Graeae Logos

This event has passed.

Cast & Creatives

The Teachers’ Play
Writer Sonali Bhattacharyya
Director Kate Golledge

The Funeral Directors’ Play
Writer Josh Elliott
Director Emily Ling Williams

The Social Care Workers’ Play
Writer Francesca Beard
Director Emma Baggott

The Refuse Collectors’ Play
Writer Danusia Samal
Director Rikki Henry

The Midwives’ Play
Writer Nessah Muthy
Director Anna Marsland

The Delivery Drivers’ Play
Writer Annie Jenkins
Director Jack Nurse

The Women’s Centre Workers’ Play
Writer Eno Mfon
Director Eva Sampson

The Supermarket Workers’ Play
Writer Yomi Ṣode
Director Rachael Nanyonjo

The TFL Workers’ Play
Writer Molly Taylor
Directors Jenny Sealey and Kate Lovell

The Key Workers Cycle (All Plays)
Creative Directors Stephanie Bain and Dani Parr
Design Consultant Kate Bunce
Costume Design Maariyah Sharjil
Lighting Design Fraser Craig
Sound Design Mwen
Composer and Musical Director Zara Nunn
Movement Director Darragh O’Leary
Casting Director Verity Naughton
Casting Associate Nick Hockaday
The Key Workers Cycle is presented on the set design for The Chairs, designed by Cécile Trémolières and Naomi Kuyck-Cohen

Producer Simon Stephens
Community Engagement Manager 
Jordana Golbourn
Participation Producer Assistant Lauren Joyce-Smith

Image created by Selman Hoşgör